Saturday, February 4, 2012

The Feel of Books

I don't think I will ever stop liking books, you know, the real thing. Books that have fronts and backs and you can touch and even smell. I understand time moves on and progress and all - Kindles and instant hand held devices with information available almost anywhere...but give me silence and a book to hold and turn the pages by the oldest machine around -  my body, through my hands. I have a bookshelf where I keep those books - the ones that spoke to me for one reason or the other in the past. Sometimes I sit in the chair that is positioned by the books and just look at them. Weird maybe but that's me. Calvin Miller's trilogy, The Singer, The Song and The Finale are three on the top of this list. It is a mythic retelling of the story of the New Testament. I am including a link below to Intervarsity Press where you can purchase the trilogy, if you feel so inclined. I highly recommend it.

"The Singer is a narrative in the tradition of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien - a retelling of an age-old story whose significance is unmatched in human history"

5 of 5 stars
bookshelves: literature 
"If you like C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien AND you love poetry, this is the trilogy for you. It isn't long but the story is fascinating. Miller uses his own voice to tell an inspiring tale. This is a must read if you enjoy poetry".

5 of 5 stars
bookshelves: christian-fiction
Recommended for: Anyone who likes fiction, poetry, and the New Testament combined
"An amazing piece by Calvin Miller, and one of my favorite books of all time. It is written entirely in poetry form with smaller poems and phrases as chapter introductions, for example "A god to big to walk in human shoes, has outgrow all hope of human use, and heavy skeptics weighed down with doubt can never rise to find what God's about" (or something really really close to that I'm going by memory) As for the separate books, each corresponds with a portion of the New Testament 'The Singer' - the gospels, Jesus' life, ministry, death, and resurrection. 'The Song' - work of the apostles in carrying out the ministry, establishing the Church, and enduring persecution. 'The Finale ' - Revelation, the last days and marvelous second coming of Christ.
It's been a long time since I read them, but it makes an excellent pleasure read with the chapters being usually short, and easy enough to read for something light, yet without disengaging your brain. The imagery and creativity in this re-telling was great, I know the style isn't for everyone but I would suggest at least reading 'The Singer', if for no other reason, it's originality, I have yet to find another book like it".

No comments:

Post a Comment